Bed Head

I sleep under the stars every night
Dreaming about the time to shine for mine
Or if Etta James will ever be right
It’s like walking in treacle
Murky, sticky, supposed to be easy cost it’s sweet like
No direction cos it ain’t sea right

I battle bitter breeze
That batters me when I breathe
Beating my chest like tambourines
I collapse to my knees
Knowing trouble comes in trees
So I pray that every trial
Leads to planting new seeds
Wire my faith into the Jordan
Give it 7 V’s
Hoping to be perfected in resurrection
Melting golden calves to pave my streets

It’s so hard because I hearken to me
Despise my very voice
Feel like a martyr for me
Dying for the cause of unfulfilled prophecy
They said it’s all in the head so to the sky I scream
which of you is for me
Either I’m a bad judge or the anti Moses of opportunities
It’s lunacy because honesty offers a strait jacket
Feel so penned in that paper chasing is a habit
Duracell Bunny’s now unhappy Rabbit

I give my all for all but one
No musketeers
I muster tears
Got musket ears and a wounded soul
Shots ring all the time yet I stand by the phone
Liike being there is my home
That’s what my mantle is
To protect and serve
I bled prayers into bandages
Thought being a word smith had its advantages
Till I ran out of metaphoric and had to focus on the I AM
Yet discovering I’m just a man has been
Obscene like the C-word though the P one’s just the same
Some sing you’ll never walk alone though I’m a ghost in my lane
Tell me I’m a super man though I’m not even Dean Cain
My heart burns for CJ and I’m blind to Lois Lane
Can’t even lie in peace as honesty’s in the way
Said I’m alive under the stars but can’t tell if I’m awake

2 Comments

September 27, 2012 · 12:18 am

2 responses to “Bed Head

  1. Wow dude – loved this one.

    Especially loved the line:

    I battle bitter breeze That batters me when I breathe Beating my chest like tambourines I collapse to my knees

    Is ‘CJ’ at the end a superman reference?

    Jez

Leave a Reply

