Confession

Forgive me father for I have been sinning
I have grown used to the taste of losing
Not winning
My tongue lost the strength to spit
I have been chewed up by home truths
Flavour sucked out by excuses
I have a humans right to live
My spirit’s bruised with my humans right abuses
The truth is
I’ve had so many bibles I lost my religion
Been cut up by independence
Call it indecision
Naturally short sighted
Drunk from half empty glasses to find my vision
When I thought I’d had my chips
You’ve sent me soul fishing
In murky ponds where I don’t belong
The boat that rocked has been my cradle
It’s been a grave moment
I’ve been a victim
Been a baby
Rape alarms like a lady
Constructive criticism would detonate me
Father i blame you for not being there when I needed you
Now forgive me I pray thee
Forgive me I pray thee
Let my convictions bow their heads for the guillotine
I need to slay me
So forgive me father for my actors part of
The plays that flopped and the songs that never charted
The principles I bartered for illegitimate babies I fathered
Stretching my arms like Moses to simply break a piece of my heart off
Fed it to mongrels as bread crumbs
Played in tongues like sand dunes
God was not present when some temples sang in tune
Boo da sin tax was not a pleasant or peaceful one
I’ve learned to change my calendar cos after several dates another piece was gone
It’s not the one, neither were they.
How many times have you got to be brought to your knees before you learn how to pray
So now I say, father forgive me for I have sinned
I have poisoned my air conditioning with a brazen foul wind
I have broken 7 seals by boiling the sea of change to a thin
Vapour
Been enslaved by the paper
Cuts, selective memories like super man tore his cape off
Left myself unprotected like a boxer fighting with the tape off
Gone digital with my misery cos apathy tore my tape up
They say time is money, with every groan I earned a pay cut
Walked around with open wounds this warrior fought and learned how to stay cut
Bathed in salt cos I thought it would show heart if you heard my pains love
Forgive me
For I am sin
I have broken the promises I once held dear within
I am the snake within my grass
The eve with in my garden
I am stone tablets with your commandments
In fact just stone hearted
Drowning in waters that I’ve charted
For me, I am martyred
So father forgive me
As I do

Leave a comment

Filed under Just Living

Leave a Reply

