Departure Lounge

Dear

oh it doesn’t matter

Mad as a hatter because I allowed your small plate to sit next to my platter

Grace my table with irreverent chatter while I feed your mind I find myself starved of decent conversation

We twist and turn like ice creams covering ourselves in that sweet sauce of lust

A desire for a good thing causes us to trust in the idea of trust without studying the mental photo of us

We dust off our baggage and brace ourselves for a rollercoaster

We’d rather be a Warhol poster than a negative in the darkroom

Sweeping the truth with the hardbroom of ignorance to the facts

We connect better disconnected so lets not beat ourselves into this and hope friendship covers tracks

We both want new roots to replace those hacked

Been rolled up like a door mat and smoked like a cheap spliff

It’s not enough to be seen as a drug yet our abusers aren’t good enough to sniff

I find I snort the game, yet you and I are each others supply of novocaine

We need to take control again, get out the window seat and declare I’ll be fly

Develop a new operating system a new U, I

We gotta precede to proceed

Sometimes you’ve gotta be grieved to be relieved

It’s like the release of held pee after you’ve heard that flush

The grass is only greener when you’ve grown it and treated it

Only then can it be lush, plush and give you that rush

Make you feel like its slowed down to your time

Our time

That’s if after all these checks in the airport of the mind your baggage is labelled alongside mine

See I just need time to check in with my mirror before I let anyone be an extension of my reflection

I crave attention, love affection, love to be loved but times I need detention

Learn the lesson of my retention before your name is the first humane I mention cos

Even though your nearer than I think

I don’t want to miss you if I blink, dismiss you if I get a hint that something simply ain’t right

Matter of fact we’re shaking hands until I know you’ll be around to watch this ink dry

Regardless

1 Comment

Filed under Relationships

One response to “Departure Lounge

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Departure Lounge « The Journey of Poetic7 -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

