To my friend

To that friend

That friend that calls themselves your friend or my friend

That friend who says they’re there for you to the end

Want to know all of your friends and has that hand to lend

That real talk believer, wont take your attitude but give you all of theirs yet they’re no diva

That friend who believes time and respect is the great healer

That friend who wants to quarterback your life and make you nothing more than an advice receiver

Yeah I’m talking about that friend

That friend who your bosom they’ll cleave to when they find they’re in the middle of a pickle and life replaces lemons with limes

That friend who claims to love your lines and finds a way to occupy your time and run up your phone bill because life, it just aint fine

Or that friend who loves to run their gums about their bonus dollars and dimes, their funny times and

stuff you really don’t mind but, step out of the norm like you left the divine for a penny sweet and a spit polish shoe shine

Those real talkers went AWOL when my relationship didn’t fit their design

I’ll be honest I don’t know about your friends but I know about mine

They disappeared offline.

Agreed to attend a celebration of my birthday then suddenly declined

Didn’t show with no apparent reasoning behind

Don’t want to tell me their business but want to know about mine

Asking about me but never approaching in a straight line,

I recall several times when there was a mutual connection as well as them and I online they but they couldn’t say hi

That same friend later telling me about don’t come to me crying saying I’ve got no friends and their soul is cleansed because they tried to be mine

Really?

When they used me as the safe guy before getting engaged to someone with the same name and I had to find out through the grapevine

Why

I’m talking about that friend

Those so-called friends, good folk who you know have potential to climb

The ones on your level to sharpen your mind, sharpen your iron

Who quickly got hot and left you steaming like cheapened iron

Yeah those friends

See this is to that friend that old school friend who went to the same school back in the old fool days

When you in your young old fool ways would crack jokes in youthful bliss

Say I didn’t do it miss then Valentines day say I fancy you Miss so and so

Oh how I reminisce about those days with my old school friend

One said he’d thought about me a lot in the 15 years since that time came to an end

Hearing his story how he’d been in and out of prison

Got two kids and he’s struggling to hold down jobs but he knows he has to hustle for nothing is a given

I say my struggles been different,

We chose to live through vicarious vision but let us resume our friendship my friend

This time let’s take it to the end,

Time would see that bridge lose its bend and become flat but then

My resumed friend decided to use a Facebook page, see even though thy could call my mobile they though it would be all the rage to

Publicly disintegrate my respect because they chose to demonstrate

Why it would be a bad idea to reintegrate them fully into my life as a true friend

Cursing out folk I knew claiming it was a joke and sending them and I abusive messages even though I told them to step off as I knew where it would end

They didn’t heed the warning so I told them to man up …Friend

And even though I thought they’re perfect for their love who I had a crush on in primary school I heard from her about how jailbird started acting the fool,

As she’s my friend I believe he ought to treat her right and all

Yet I still hope for progression rather than regression, finally learn their lesson

And though her heart will wretch and bend I hope she can be his true friend even if our connection must end

See to move on from your past sometimes you got to put it on blast and let it propel you into your future care-free

See my parents always told me to choose my friends carefully

I like to think that my friends will draw close to me if I walk prayerfully

So many children masquerade as adults and breathe so much air for me that I wonder if there’s a pin in the sky waiting to pop their balloon of fakery

I’m not saying I’m the perfect connect I’ve eaten humble pie but I don’t live near the bakery

I’m just saying that so-called no man is an island thing aint floating because this man could be an island My island is being built and its taking its time

Yet  I don’t want to live there in thought, deed or in rhyme

See I’m steadily learning from all your mistakes and all of mine

What it takes, to be, a true friend

2 Comments

Filed under Just Living

2 responses to “To my friend

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention To my friend « The Journey of Poetic7 -- Topsy.com

  2. I like it, yet it is so full of hurt and pain!

Leave a Reply

