Angel

I was randomly sent the song “Angel” by Sarah Mclachlan and told to listen to it – its not my style of music by any stretch but it meant a lot to the person who sent it. Some how it reached into my soul and made me write and so I share its impact with you.

Sometimes I wish I was covered in angel dust
Not the kind that people snort and snuff
The sort that speeds the clock when times get rough
The sort that turns up when I’m needing love
needing a second hand to hold mine when my head spins like time
I can’t see how I’m ticking cos my eyes are full of lines
Folk say I’ve too many stars in my eyes to have a meteoric rise
I’ve given them food for thought but who ate all the pies
Not me
See I’ve brought flavour to a table of struggling ingredients
Cooked it up in a pot of theirs and my experience
The heat sends them delirious they leave feeling fearless
Peerless
Untouchable like a woman on her period
And I’m left peering out, thought I was nearing out
but instead I’m kneeling down praying for heaven to hear me out
Like English weather in November things are dreary now
Burning bad bridges to embers and clearing out
Only seems to make things eerie now
When dark tunnels had direction I could feel them out
Drowning sorrows wont work I can’t beer me out
They will drown me in depths of self mistrust
So sometimes I wish up on angel dust
Not the type that people snort and snuff
I know that when I’m down I’ll need some love
So God sent an Angel

Leave a comment

Filed under Art

Leave a Reply

